Another bucketload of wtf?

June 5, 2010

Yesterday I finished Alan Wake, exactly one week behind Adz. Last week, we arranged a little friendly wager who would finish the game first. Strangely enough, even though Adz knows I run through games fast, he felt confident he could finish it before me.

Turns out, Darias mum left London for the weekend and somebody needed to feed her rabbit.

Moral Dilemma:

  • Leave a rabbit by himself for one night, without food untill mid-day the day after and play games

or

  • Go to London and have to live with the fact that Adz beat me, but feed the rabbit

It was kind of obvious what we had to do, and I had to watch as Adz got further into the story and consequently beat it before I did.

Well, what he didn’t tell me was that the story was more confusing than the Matrix and towards the end had more WTF moments than Crank 2. Theres going to be some spoilers about the finale of Alan Wake below, so I would advise to look away if you haven’t beat the game yet.

**SPOILERS**

My take on it is that the cloned guy is Alan Wakes creation to continue destroying the darkness, whilst the real Alan Wake had to sacrifice himself to the darkness to save his wife, Alice. He mentioned cause and effect, and that there must be a balance. For Alice to survive, the Darkness needed an offering in place of Alice, hence Alan gave himself.

The things I have absolutely no effing clue about:

  1. How was Alice surviving all that time at the bottom of the lake, or is it ocean?
  2. What the heck was the tornado all about?
  3. Who was Thomas Zane, I still don’t 100% get who he is and why he had a massive divers suit on ala Bioshock
  4. Why at the end, was FBI Nightingale alive?
  5. Why did Rose become the new light lady? What happened to the original old light lady?

**END OF SPOILERS**

I’m glad I beat it, and there’s one thing for sure about the game, the atmosphere didn’t let up at all, even towards the end. There were a few moments where I got pissed off because the mechanics of the game were broken. Especially when I had to navigate around the bridge and jump over gaps and it was failing. One epic moment, which goes up to the top in my favourite moments of gaming was the part where Alan has to wait for Sarah to fire up the helicopter. The noise of the engines in the background as I’m defending the helipad from swarms of enemies, firing off my flare gun. It was amazing. Even though I have so many un answered questions, it goes right up into my top 5 games of all time.

College is nearly over and it is pissing me off beyond belief. It turns out, we have to go in on Mondays now because they managed to screw us over and not supply is with any teachers for four weeks. We have 2 weeks to complete, and hand in 2 complete units of work. In that time, I have to create a fully working TMS system which for me is pretty difficult to get my head around. I was confident last week that I could do it, but after just one sleep I have forgotten everything.

Also last week, I managed to forget my already printed Games Assignment, which meant I had to print the whole thing off again costing me £2 something. To top it off, the printer I used refused to work properly and screwed all of my work up. It was just a really depressing moment when you realise the college can’t even maintain a printer of all things.

As expected, I’m currently at work but should be finished by about 15.00 this afternoon. Sweet!

Leave a comment